December Motivation: Acts of Kindness

Yesterday was #GivingTuesday- a initiative created several years ago that seeks to bring back a giving spirit around the holiday season. Its the antithesis to the craziness that is Black Friday.

While I love a good sale and love a good holiday party- I think its really important to take a step back as we enter December and think about what really matters.

This month I want to commit to a weekly act of kindness. Just one act a week that will remind me to slow things down and have a little perspective.

Here are some ideas that I plan to take on this month:

Week 1: Collect + donate mitts, hatts and scarves to donate to a local homeless shelter (This guide is a great reference tool for donating to shelters/charities)

Week 2: Pay for the person’s coffee behind me in line at Starbucks.

Week 3: Go to my grandmother’s house and spend the day with her helping her with chores + errands

Week 4: Bake cookies + Christmas treats to handout (to the security that works in my building, the barista at my coffee shop, etc.)

I challenge you to create your own list and start thinking about ways to give back!

xo

Holly

fullsizerender-8
Handing out Christmas gifts at the Boys and Girls Club in Hamilton, December 2014

 

Leave a Reply

