Hidden Gems

A good snapshot keeps a moment from running away. 

This weekend I agreed to help my parents clean out their basement as they are currently undergoing renovations.

What started out as a productive day turned into my dad and I parked on the couch for hours totally and completely mesmerized by old photographs and mementos.

After lots of laughs around funny report card comments and bad nineties fashion looks- I finally came across this photo in a pile of postcards.

nt

Who is this guy? I wondered. Was it taken from an album cover, or an old magazine?

Turns out, this is actually a snap of my dad! I couldn’t believe it – this picture of this long-haired hippy is nothing like the relatively conservative guy I know today.

This photograph launched into a lot of great stories as my dad recalled his youth- travelling across Canada for years as a soundman with various bands and musicians- or what he referred to as the “Jack Keroauc” time in his life. 

I think its natural for us to forget that our parents actually had a life before having children – and that life is often very different than the one they know now.

Seeing this one photograph, this hidden gem has made me realize that as I grow older- there’s so much more to learn about my parents. Who were they before they had me? How did they grow into the person they are now?

Here’s to finding more hidden gems.

 

 

Leave a Reply

